Welcome to Red Box Books

Children's Laureate | Poet Laureate

The role of Children's Laureate is awarded once every two years to an eminent writer or illustrator of children's books to celebrate outstanding achievement in their field. The Children's Laureate receives a bursary of £15,000 and a specially designed and inscribed silver medal.

The idea for the Children's Laureate originated from a conversation between (the then) Poet Laureate Ted Hughes and children's writer Michael Morpurgo. They considered it an appropriate and timely way to combine the celebration of excellence in writing and illustration for children with honouring individuals who have made a significant and lasting contribution to the world of children’s books.

Quentin Blake was the first Children's Laureate (1999-2001), followed by Anne Fine (2001-2003), Michael Morpurgo (2003-2005), Jacqueline Wilson (2005-7), Michael Rosen (2007-2009), Anthony Browne (2009-11), Julia Donaldson (2011-2013) and Malorie Blackman (2013-2015). Each Children’s Laureate has taken the opportunity to promote particular aspects of children’s books – these have included visual literacy, readers with disabilities, poetry, storytelling, illustration, drama and writing for young adults.

Click on each author to view their book packs and individual titles.

Compare Products

You have no items to compare.